Saturday 15 June 2024

From the far west of Europe please welcome Paulo again at referee.pl

Hey everyone!

My name is Paulo Martins and I´m from Portugal!

I´m 31 years old, I officiate since 2009 and in the past I have attended 4 Kuba referee camps and its good to be back after a long break. This season I officiated women first divison and men second division. With this camp I look forward to learn new things (ex: about 3PO) and start to get in shape for the next season. Besides officiating games, I also like to practice combat sports, go to the cinema and theater´s and spending time with my dogs. Take care, safe trip´s/flights for everyone and see you soon!

Paulo Rocha Martins

Romeo & Julia … uppsss … Julia & Marcin are with us!

My name is Julia Angela Karamovic

I am a 22-year-old sports-involved girl from a small city in Sweden called Borås, but with parents from the Balkans. I had my first referee clinic in May 2016, where I also refereed my first basketball tournament (Basketball Festivalen). Before I developed a passion for basketball, I was a competitive swimmer. However, I substituted the long hours of swimming in the pool for analyzing and enjoying the game of basketball instead. In High School, I finally pursued my passion for becoming a professional referee, and I haven’t looked back. The season 2022-23 was my first season as a second-league women’s and third-league men’s referee in Sweden. This summer was also my first time going to Australia, where I visited my sister playing and had the chance to watch and analyze their way of reffing.

My name is Marcin Linder. 

I am a 35-year-old Pole, living in Warsaw sinceI returned to Poland 2017. Here I am a referee in the Mazovia district officiation regularly the second female and third male leagues and recently quarter-finals of the Polish championship U17, U13. I have two passions, my work and basketball officiating, and I definitely prefer Euroleague over NAB:)

M&M, please welcome at Survival Camp for first time Maciej and Maksym

Maksym Gerszkow

1. Describe yourself in 30 words.

My name is Maksym, but most of my friends call me Gery. I live in Szczecin, Poland. I am 20 years old and I finished school one year ago. In October I will start studying.

2. What is your referee story?

In primary school my PE teacher, now known as a FIBA referee, encouraged me to start officiating. I have started officiating in October 2021. I was playing basketball for 8 years. Right now, I am finishing my second season as a referee. Officiating became my passion for sure.

3. What is your hidden talent?

Im am not sure if I have any hidden talent, but if I have to pick one thing that I am doing very well, it is dancing. I am an extrovert, so dancing with others is natural for me:)

4. What is one “fun fact” about You?

In high school me and my teammates (we attended the same class) cut our hair bald on our lunch break. One mate didn’t manage to get his haircut and went to class with half a bald head. I was our barber:)

5. What is your favourite TV show?

My favourite TV show is “Peaky Blinders”. Once when I started watching this series, I could not step away from TV for 3 days.

Maciej Inerowicz

1. Describe yourself in 30 words.

I’m 22 and have smile on my face for the most of the time. I study psychology at UAM university in Poznań. Open-minded with lots of energy.

2. What is your referee story?

I was pushed towards refereeing by my middle school coach. Back then I wasn’t fit much, so I was compensating my lacks in perimeter defense by knowing how to take a charge. I referee since 2019/20 season, from 2022/23 season I’m Polish Basketball Association referee. In officiating I value the ability to learn many different skills and the opportunity to meet and get to know a lot of interesting people. And the most important- joy!

3. What is your hidden talent?

Karaoke- especially when I’m alone driving.

4. What is one “fun fact” about You?

I had an episode as a bass player in a punk rock band during my high school era.

5. What is your favourite TV show?

“The Office”

British referees joining Survival Camp 2023

Bence Szilvagyi

Hi I’m Bence! I’m from Budapest, Hungary but I currently living in Brighton in the UK where I moved with my family in 2016. My basketball gurney began with friends playing basketball at the park. I fell in love with the sport immediately and now I couldn’t imagine my life without it. I always found interesting how referees work but also my former coach was a referee. So I guess it was bound to happen. I picked up the whistle and became a referee in 2017. Up until the 2021-22 season I was only refereeing junior games but in the last two season I’ve stepped up to the Men’s Division 1 league. I will be starting my studies at a university to become an engineer. Along side I have a part time job as a bartender. Most of the time I have off basketball I try to spend it with family and friends. One massive reason I like this job is because I realised how many friends you really gain from it.

Paulina Chyrc

Hi, my name is Paulina 🙂 I come from Wrocław, from Poland, but I was also living in China, and from almost 6 years I’ve been living in London in the UK. My adventure with basketball started when I was 9 years old, I started playing at that time. After I stopped playing I became a table official and from 7 years I’ve been a referee.Currently I referee up to Division 1 Men and WBBL (the top national female league) games. The most funny story I’ve had as a referee is falling down on the floor with a player who jumped at me trying to rescue the ball. Fortunately he was the smallest player on the whole court, other way I’d become a blot. On the same game, which was a crowded Division 1 Men game, I got a birthday wishes through the speaker from the commentator. Other than spending my time on basketball I work as a landscape architect creating exciting projects. I also love travelling and trying new things, new sports. Now I’m looking forward to meet you on the camp :))

SWISS CREW IS BACK!

Hey! We are the Swiss crew!

The first time we heard from each other was already six years ago when I move to Fribourg, his city, Despite officiating in the same area we had two wait 3 more years to officiate together and finally get to know each other. We bond quite quickly because we realized we have the same interest in spending hours watching clips and working on officiating. “Did you hear about the Crown ref podcast?” or “Hey did you hear about red flags ?” that was the start of a friendship. And in 2021 we went to the survival camp for the first time and that’s when a real friendship started. We got to know more than the referees.

Living in Fribourg, Valentin Kutnar is crazy about sports. Fitness, swimming, Yoga … Taking care of his body is driving a big part of his life. That got even to his job, currently studying Osteopathy. Someone that cares for other people, he will always be there to help you.

Living in Basel, Alexandre Tornay is passionate about art alongside sport. Between two running sessions, he let his mind get free to creativity. That is no surprise that his daily life is driven by architecture. Very positive mindset he’s never let your negativity get you.

We are both motivated in improving officiating, currently, in the first division of women and second division of men in Switzerland we will never stop improving ourselves. After a few camps like Survival Camp or Scania that we already did together we are looking forward to working hard with the new edition of Survival Camp!!

Have a great Day!

FIRST TWO CAMPERS TO ANNOUNCE FOR SURVIVAL CAMP 2023

We are happy to announce first two of our 2023 campers. Please check self introduction of James & James.

Hello everybody,

Here is Yuta & Ting-Hong.

You can call Yuta his first name (Yuta) and call me James or my first name according to your preferences. We all came from Asia, Yuta is from Japan and living in Shang-Hai, China right now. He is a teacher at a primary school in Shang-Hai. Besides basketball, he loves to travel and have visited 54 countries. He has used to officiate in Hong Kong, China, Hungary, and of course in Japan. He has known this camp since 2019 and really wanted to participate this camp but can’t did it because of Covid 19.

My name is James, come from Taiwan. I’m currently a PhD student in National Taiwan Normal University, specializing in sports psychology. I used to be a basketball player, but because of my lower back injury, I switched to be a referee because I am really loving this sport. I have two Shiba Inu, they are quite cute and they are ten years old. Because I saw quite a lot of Shiba Inu when I was traveling in Japan, it gave me the idea to keep them. I knew about this camp from my senior – Fei, whom participated twice.